news, scores, updates
esports by

The 9th Esports World Championship is going to Busan, Korea for 2017

April 7, 2017 Esports INQ



International e-Sports Federation (IeSF) will hold the 9th Esports World Championship 2017, which is the sole international esports event where players compete as representing their countries, in Busan, Korea from November 8th to 12th, 2017.

IeSF had disclosed the opportunity for the host city bidding to its member national federations and international sports events hosting companies for the 9th Esports World Championship 2017. As Busan expressed great interest for hosting such event, IeSF finalized its host city bidding as awarding the hosting right to Busan for 9th Esports World Championship 2017 through the Board meeting held on 30th day of March.

Busan has hosted G-STAR, an international game exhibition, and has extended such hosting right for next 4 years on this February. In addition, by hosting International Telecommunication Union’s significant event, ITU Telecom World 2017, which is a global Information and Communication Technology fair, Busan shows great enthusiasm to esports as well as IT industry.

IeSF now has set the potential candidatures for official game titles for the event as League of Legends, Counter Strike: Global Offensive, Winning Eleven (Pro Evolution Soccer), FIFA17, Tekken 7, Street Fighter V, StarCraft: REMASTERED, Gran Turismo and started discussion with the related game companies for license work. IeSF addressed that they will disclose the list of official titles as soon as the license negotiation is done.

After disclosure of such official game titles, all 46 member national federations of IeSF will commence the national qualifiers, and such selected teams and players from the qualifiers will be dispatched to the World Championship as representing their esteemed countries with the endorsement from the government or the national sports authorities.

Meanwhile, Esports World Championship is the sole international esports event that is hosted by IeSF, established in 2008, and sponsored by Ministry of Culture, Sport and Tourism. Over 37 countries and 400 people who are recognized as national qualifiers by each government and national sports authority have participated in the 8th e-Sports World Championship 2016, which was held in Jakarta, Indonesia, and Korea ranked first place and Finland ranked second place of it.




About The IeSF

The International e-Sports Federation (IeSF) is an International Governing Body for esports, established in 2008. Currently IeSF consists of 46 National Federations, who are approved by governments in their countries. As esports has been regarding as one of potential Sport disciplines, many of National Sport Authorities such as Ministry of Sport and National Olympic Committees have been recognize such National Esports Federations, as official Sport Governing Body.

Since 2009, IeSF has been hosting Esports World Championship every year. More than 400 people from all of IeSF National Federations and more countries participate in the event, as National Athletes approved by their government. All broadcasting contents are delivered to all around the world through online streaming platforms, with more than 2 million views.

IeSF also cooperates with various International Sport Bodies. IeSF manages and operates esports event in Multi Sports Events in the world. Also IeSF has been approved as one of the official signatories of World Anti-Doping Agency in 2013. After approval, IeSF has been conducted doping test for every event, like other sports with IeSF’s own Anti-Doping code. In 2014, IeSF was approved as an International member of TAFISA (The association For International Sport for All), and will manage esports program in 2016 TAFISA World Sport for All Games.

With rapid growth of esports, IeSF is aiming for being affiliated in SportAccord. Regarding perceptions toward esports from National Sport Authorities, it is expected that esports can be admitted as one of official sport discipline in near future, with the recognition of IeSF by SportAccord and International Olympic Committees.