news, scores, updates
esports by

Team Liquid’s Hungrybox takes the Melee crown at EVO 2016

July 18, 2016 Justin "Popi" Banusing

As another summer in competitive Super Smash Bros. Melee nears its end, another EVO champion is crowned. This year, Juan “Liquid | Hungrybox” Debiedma, the world’s best Jigglypuff, took the title.

After getting upset and sent into the Losers Bracket in Winners Semi-Finals by fellow Floridan Justin “PG | Plup” McGrath, Hungrybox was forced to run through a gauntlet before he could have a shot at championship contention. His matches Johnny “Tempo S2j” Kim, long-time rival Joseph “C9 | Mango” Marquez and the runback with Plup were all close, but he was able to clutch them all out to make grand finals.

There, he beat his former demon Adam “A | Armada” Lindgren twice to win his first EVO title, after 2 consecutive years of finishing second at the event.

Super Smash Bros. Melee Top 8: 


EVO, also known as Evolution, is a long-running series of events featuring multiple fighting game titles. Super Smash Bros.  Melee is but one of the few titles at the event with others like Street Fighter V also having entrants in the thousands.


We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.