The Esports Industry Awards 2017 – Full List of Winners

12:05 PM November 15, 2017

The Esports Industry Awards 2017 took place at The Brewery in London, England last November 13. The awards show, which started just last year, aims to recognize excellence in esports, celebrating success and achievments in esports to show the world. Aside from players and teams, they also want to aim the spotlight at the industry as a whole, acknowledging as well the behind-the-scenes guys like journalists, photographers, and videographers.

The show was livestreamed on Twitch, attracting over 26,000 viewers. They kicked off with the mother of all hype videos, which featured all the greatest moments from every esport in 2017.


One of the biggest winners of the night was Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere, who won the Esports Personality of the Year, beating out other big esports names like Jake “SirActionSlacks” Kanner, Ryan Hart, Søren “Bjergsen” Bjerg, Damon “Karma” Barlow, and Michael “Shroud” Grzesiek. Sjokz joins Megan “RheingoldRiver” Cutrofello, who won the Unsung Hero of the Year, as the first female winners of Esports Industry Awards.

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds and Counter-Strike: Global Offensive came up big, winning Breakthrough Game of the Year and Game of the Year, respectively.


Check out all the awards and winners from the night:

  • Breakthrough Game of the Year – PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds
  • Commercial Partner of the Year – G-FUEL
  • Coverage Website of the Year – ESPN Esports
  • Game of the Year – Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
  • Journalist of the Year – Duncan “Thorin” Shields
  • Photographer of the Year – Joe Brady
  • Publisher of the Year – Riot Games
  • Hardware Provider of the Year – Intel
  • Videographer of the Year – Davis “OpTic Hitch” Edwards
  • Streamer of the Year – Dr.Disrespect
  • Streaming Platform of the Year – Twitch
  • Broadcaster of the Year – Alex “Machine” Richardson
  • Console Player of the Year – Matthew “FormaL” Piper
  • Live Event of the Year – League of Legends World Championship (RIOT)
  • PC Player of the Year – Amer “Miracle” Barqawi
  • Personality of the Year – Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
  • Rookie of the Year (Console) – Victor “Punk” Woodley
  • Rookie of the Year (PC) – Abay “HObbit” Khassenov
  • Team of the Year – OpTic Gaming
  • Unsung Hero of the Year – Megan “RheingoldRiver” Cutrofello
  • UK Player of the Year – Spencer “Gorilla” Ealing
  • Play of the Year – Matthew “FormaL” Piper


For the full list of nominees and more information you can check out the Esports Industry Awards website. You can also watch the show in full on their Twitch channel.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: esports, esports industry awards, esports industry awards 2017
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2023 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.