Philippines Among 17 Nations Invited to Inaugural FIBA Esports Open 2020

09:05 AM June 13, 2020

International basketball organizing body FIBA has announced its first-ever international esports competition for national teams, the FIBA Esports Open 2020.

The tournament will run from June 19  to 21, 2020 and will feature 17 national teams: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Cyprus, Indonesia, Italy, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, New Zealand, the Philippines, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Switzerland, and Ukraine.


Are you excited?🕹 NBA 2K using the Pro-AM mode🌎🌍🌏 17 national teams📆 June 19 to 21, 2020#FIBAesportsOpen


Posted by FIBA on Friday, June 12, 2020

Each team will be comprised of seven players: five on court and two reserves. Matches will be played on the NBA 2K Pro-AM game mode and will allow players to fully customize their avatars, uniforms, and arena designs.

The FIBA Esports Open 2020 will be produced from FIBA’s new esports studio in Riga, Latvia. Each four-hour matchday will broadcast up to six games and can be livestreamed on FIBA’s Facebook, Twitch, and Youtube channels.


Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.