VALORANT Champions 2023: Chinese teams EDward Gaming and BiliBili Gaming suffer defeats in the playoffs

07:52 PM August 18, 2023

Chinese teams EDward Gaming (EDG) and BiliBili Gaming (BLG) both suffered defeats in their respective matches today in the VALORANT Champions 2023 playoffs.

First to lose was BLG as they got swept by DRX in a 2-0 fashion.


Although BLG had a near-perfect 10-2 run in the first half where they had two aces courtesy of Li “rin” Lewei and Wang “whz” Haozhe, it was DRX who took the first game on Lotus, 13-10, as the South Korean squad completed a comeback in the second half—the first-ever 10-2 comeback by any team in a global event.


Exhausted from the previous game’s loss, BLG had a slow start in the second game on Haven as they let DRX secure a 6-0 lead early in the game. Despite their valiant efforts to minimize the gap and end the first half 7-5 in deficit, BLG still lost to DRX 13-10.

Sadly for Chinese VALORANT fans, EDG had no better luck as they too lost in their playoff matchup of the day, losing to North America’s Evil Geniuses (EG) in a 2-0 sweep.

At the start of their series, EDG spent racking up a sizeable lead in the first half only to lose 14-12 in overtime. Sadly, EDG’s bad luck didn’t end there as EG dished out a beating and served the Chinese hopefuls a 13-5 loss in Ascent.

With the second day of Champions 2023 playoffs concluded, both Chinese representatives fall down to the lower bracket of the playoffs where they will have to face and kick the other team out of the tournament. Meanwhile, their respective opponents, DRX and EG, both move up to the upper bracket semifinals where they too will be facing each other.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: DRX, EDward Gaming, VCT
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved