news, scores, updates
esports by
Image credit: Robert Paul for Blizzard Entertainment

Undeniable Skills, New Talents, and Positive Impacts: Overwatch League Adds New Awards for OWL 2019

September 10, 2019 Ewemiz Insigne

Image credit: Robert Paul for Blizzard Entertainment

Overwatch League (OWL) — the biggest professional esports league for Blizzard’s Overwatch — recently awarded the honors for this year’s games, most notably the new titles of Overwatch League Role Stars and Rookie of the Year. The recipients for the second Dennis Hawelka Award and the Most Valuable Player (MVP) were also recognized.

Overwatch League Role Stars is a title given to the best players in the league in their respective roles of damage, tank, and support. Votes were cast, and the top four players of each role were awarded the honor. A complete list of the twelve players can be found on this Overwatch League post.

Hyo-Jong “Haksal” Kim of Vancouver Titans was recognized as Rookie of the Year — an award given to the new faces and talents of this year’s OWL — while Jay “Sinatraa” Won of San Francisco Shock was crowned as successor to last year’s MVP, Seong-Hyun “Jjonak” Bang of New York Excelsior.

The Dennis Hawelka Award focuses players with positive impacts on the community, and for its second year, was given to the captain of the Los Angeles Valiant, Scott “Custa” Kennedy.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.